From the monthly archives: "November 2010"

VTech Toy Story 3 Buzz Lightyear Digital Camera
Amazon UK are selling the new VTech Toy Story 3 Buzz Lightyear Digital Camera for £39 (with case, or less without) – it’s a 2 megapixel digital camera made for kids, and features a 2x digital zoom, TV and PC connection, ultra tough casing, built in xenon flash, stores up to 500 photos on the camera with 256 MB of storage, and has SD card slot for memory expansion. It takes 4 x AA batteries (batteries not included), has a 1.8-inch TFT colour LCD screen, and can record up to 8 minutes of video (at 320×240, 15fps with mono sound). There’s also a “VTech Disney Princess Camera” version available in pink.

VTech Toy Story 3 Buzz Lightyear Digital Camera

“Take photos and videos with Buzz, Woody and all your Toy Story friends on this 3 in 1 camera! Store up to 500 photos and have fun editing the images and adding Toy Story themed frames, stamps and effects. Features easy to use controls, viewfinder, flash and a colour LCD screen, 2x digital zoom and built-in photo editor. Expandable memory with SD card (sold separately). Includes carry strap, CD-Rom and cables to link to PC and TV.” 3 in 1 refers to Photo mode, Video mode, and built in Photo editor.

[Continue Reading…]

Panasonic Lumix LX5 Indoor Shot
We’ve just uploaded sample photos from the Panasonic Lumix LX5 – an update to the LX3 – it features a new 24mm wide angle 3.8x optical zoom lens (24-90mm), with f2.0 aperture, 10 megapixel CCD sensor, 3″ screen with 460k pixels, 720p HD video, manual focus, flash hotshoe, EVF support, aspect ratio switch (4:3, 3:2 or 16:9 with 1:1 also available), 400 shot battery life, optical image stabilisation, and supports SD/SDHC/SDXC cards. It is available in black or white, for £325.

View our Panasonic Lumix LX5 Sample Photo Gallery

Canon IXUS 95 IS Pink
Available in Silver, Pink, Blue, and Grey, the Canon Digital IXUS 95 IS (aka SD1200 IS) is a compact camera that features a 10 megapixel sensor, 3x optical zoom lens, 2.5″ screen, and optical image stabilisation. It’s also one of the smallest cameras available with an optical viewfinder – although due to it’s compact size it’s usefulness may be limited. Announced on the 18th February 2009 the camera is now available for considerably less than the original price, and is often found on special offer.

Canon intro: “Uncompromising style and great value are fused in the Digital IXUS 95 IS. Ease of use is assured by Smart Auto mode, which uses Scene Detection to intelligently optimise settings for better pictures. The Digital IXUS 95 IS has a light, compact design that slips easily into a pocket or purse. It comes in a choice of four colours: silver, grey, blue or pink.”

View our Canon Digital IXUS 95 IS Sample Photo Gallery
Read our Canon Digital IXUS 95 IS Review

[Continue Reading…]

With the holiday season coming up, a number of digital cameras are now available on special offer, with upto £50 cashback available on some models, including pocket zooms, digital SLRs, and Micro Four Thirds cameras. We’ll keep this post updated with all the cashback offers available in the UK, the cheapest place to buy them, and details of when the offer expires! Have a look below, and make sure you check the latest prices when buying!

Nikon D3100 DSLRNikon cashback offers are available from the 1st of December 2010 until 31st January 2011. see Nikon for more information.

Nikon D3100 Digital SLRread reviews here – £40 cashback offer “Purchase a Nikon D3100 between 1st March 2011 and 4th May 2011 and claim £40 cashback. Claims must be received by 5th June 2011.”, £394 from Amazon UK, with VR kit lens, making the camera £354 after cashback.

Latest Cashback Offers:

Casio Exilim ZR100

Casio Exilim Cashback – upto £50 on Casio Exilim Digital cameras, including the Casio Exilim ZR100 shown above, until 31st of July 2011. More details here.

Canon Cashback – upto £40 on IXUS / EOS Digital Cameras. Until 1st June 2011.

[Continue Reading…]

close-to-elephants

Ever been this close to a herd of elephants? Neither have I. The lens I rented for my trip to Africa makes them look a lot closer than they were!

I’ve rented for a few reasons.

First, I want to make sure the reviews I read about equipment match up to my expectations. Reviews like the ones here at DigiCamReview.com are priceless. I would never consider buying equipment before checking it’s reviews first. But there’s a lot to be said for having equipment in your hands. Does that giant zoom lens make you feel extra conspicuous? Does Image Stabilization (Vibration Reduction if you’re a Nikon) make that much of a difference? I bought my favorite Lens (Canon’s 100mm f/2.8 IS L Macro) because I rented it first to make sure it was perfect. And it was.

I’ve also rented specialty equipment. I went to Africa this year and I knew my 17-40mm and 18-135mm lenses wouldn’t be enough to get good shots of far away animals. After reading tons of reviews and suggestions I knew the best lens for the trip would be Canon’s 100-400mm zoom lens. It’s the perfect safari lens. But at home in California I do food/product photography and landscapes. That lens would be a $1600 hunk of metal and glass gathering dust in the closet. So I rented it for a month. I spent just $250 USD including shipping and insurance. Pretty sweet deal, huh?

[Continue Reading…]

Olympus PEN E-PL1s
Olympus Japan has announced the new Olympus PEN E-PL1s (Japan only) with new more compact kit lets, the E-PL1s updates the E-PL1, with ISO6400, updated design available in Red / White / Black, and new M. Zuiko Digital 14-42mm F3.5-5.6 II kit lens with MSC (Movie & Still Compatible) mechanism, faster Auto focus, quieter operation, for improved video recording. Olympus Japan has published sample photos from the new camera and lens. via 1001noisycameras.com

Panasonic Lumix TZ9
The DSGi group (Currys, Dixons, PCWorld in the UK) are selling the Panasonic Lumix TZ9, a version of the TZ8 and TZ10 (the TZ9 sits somewhere in the middle), features a wide-angle 12x optical zoom lens (25-300mm), 3″ screen, video recording with stereo sound, and is available for £219, while the Panasonic Lumix TZ10 (with GPS) is available for £223, and the Panasonic Lumix TZ8 (With smaller 2.7″ screen, and mono audio) is available for £169

“This stylish Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ9 Compact Digital Camera in black looks good and makes photography fun again with its advanced feature-set. Boasting an incredible zoom range of 25-300mm, this great 12.1 mp camera lets you shoot just about anything, ranging from sweeping landscapes to mid-distance sports or wildlife pictures.”

Click for more details and pictures: [Continue Reading…]

Ricoh CX4 - Front on

The Ricoh CX4 is Ricoh’s latest compact camera in a long line of compact cameras, which started with the Ricoh CX1 (9mp CMOS sensor, 7.1x optical zoom lens), Ricoh CX2 (10.7x optical zoom lens), Ricoh CX3 (10mp update), and now the Ricoh CX4, which adds improved image stabilisation, new creative modes, a new night shot mode, subject tracking AF, and improved battery life. The Ricoh CX4 is available from around £226

The Ricoh CX1 introduced a high speed 9mp CMOS sensor to Ricoh’s line of cameras, which was itself, and update to the Ricoh R10 (I wont bore you with the details, but as you can probably guess by now, dates all the way back to the Ricoh Caplio R1v), and offered 4fps shooting as well as high speed video recording. The Ricoh CX2 updated to 5fps shooting, and a 10.7x optical zoom lens covering a useful 28-300mm range in 35mm terms. The Ricoh CX3 added HD video recording, as well as a 10 megapixel sensor and numerous options such as noise control. The Ricoh CX4 now adds …

  • Improved/ Enhanced image stabilisation system
  • Subject tracking AF
  • three new shooting scene modes: Soft Focus / Cross Process / Toy Camera
  • Night Landscape Multi-shot
  • JPEG (Exif ver.2.3)
  • Improved battery life 330 shots vs 310
  • Re-designed buttons at the back, slightly larger
  • Slightly shorter body 58.3 mm high vs 58.6mm high
  • Weighs 1g less – 184g vs 185g body only

View our Ricoh CX4 Sample Photo Gallery
Read our Ricoh CX4 Review
[Continue Reading…]

Vivitar T327 Front
Vivitar has announced the new Vivitar Vivicam T327, Retro style digital camera, an update to the 8027, it features “upto” 12 megapixel resolution (8mp CMOS sensor according to the manual?), 3x optical zoom lens, 2.7″ screen, optical viewfinder, SD/SDHC support, face and smile detection, VGA video at 30fps, built in flash, and Lithium Ion battery (a Nokia BL-5B), and should be available in a number of colours. Via DCViews.

“This designer camera is clearly inspired by 70 years of Vivitar heritage. Old fashioned on the outside, it’s packed with all the modern features, optical and digital zoom, flash with red eye reduction, and a rechargeable battery.”

Vivitar Vivicam T327 Back